12 hours on a plane and I liked it!

This was my first experience on Japan Airlines and I have to say I’m impressed! While I don’t necessarily need my flight attendants buttoned up in a sharply dressed uniform, their incredible efficiency and courtesy along with it instantly transports you to the good old days of flying when you actually felt welcome on an airline rather than a nuisance and your experience during your journey was part of the whole trip and not something merely to be endured.  

I was dreading being cramped up for 12 hours for my flight (yes for my high-flying friends, I do actually fly coach most of the time even long-haul) but was instantly surprised by the amount of leg room we had. Even my six foot two hubby sighed a relief. JAL has adopted the policy (according to its online literature) of reducing the number of seats on the plane in order to “create an even more pleasant and comfortable flight because you’ll be here for a while”. A stark contrast from the USA carriers who jam us all in as many as possible I’m assuming to maximize profits but I sometimes wonder if it’s not also a touch of sadism. 
I was on JL9 from Chicago to Tokyo. With not just on demand entertainment in several languages, but an impressive seat back design with a variety of handy little storage caddies and a tray table able to actually handle my laptop, Japan Airlines “strive for user friendliness and convenience on board” has clearly been accomplished. 

 

happy family sighing a relief at the seats

 
Obviously at this point you can tell I’m sold on Japan Airlines and their JAL Sky Suite 777, so let’s move on to some travel tips in case I’ve already sold you too plus some pros and cons.

Pro’s, Con’s and tips for travel on Japan Airlines 

There is no TSA-PreCheck on their boarding passes. Even with your GOES ID in hand, you are not getting in this line when traveling on Japan Airlines. Be prepared you will be subject to regular screening and if you hold Pre-Check it’s worthless here.

They kept my plane very warm. Luckily after years of flying, I travel in layers. The entire I was stripped down to my cami and was just right. This may have been just my plane but I know anyone who dressed ready to freeze to death as you often do in the air was probably miserable especially as there was no personal air control.

inflight entertainment with jacks & various stowage

Bring a 2-prong headphone jack/adapter for the TV – my standard Bose jack left me in mono.

Seat Guru said there was no outlets so I came prepared with a “juice box” so I could keep the music and Candy Crush going the whole flight. My guess is they haven’t updated for the Sky Suite which sports a charging USB drive in the headrest plus two outlets between every 3 seats for laptops and anything else. I am assuming if you don’t score the sky suite it is different. I would rather have a way to charge what I need than not so I’m not saying don’t bring it, but it may go unused.
  
Meal options were one meat one fish. If you have any kind of dietary requirements make sure you order special meals in advance. The same for if you have food allergies – multiple dishes were served garnished with shrimp. Food was excellent (and the complimentary red and the plum wines were both very tasty) and lots of it!

2 full meal services & 1 sandwich service

Wifi was offered at a modest $18 for 24 hours. It was incredibly slow from start to finish. I achieved most of what I needed to but in a far slower time than it should’ve taken & took me from relaxed to frustrated. Luckily I had 12 hours to kill and I was able to use my flying time rather than my time on the ground to accomplish my much needed tasks so I could truly begin my vacation. But if you have a huge workload or you plan to use it to while away the hours, you should come up with a plan that includes being unplugged from the world below for a while.
If you are an American Airlines frequent flyer and are shooting for elite miles on a Japan Airlines route, be sure to buy your ticket through American on American ticket stock. If you don’t, you will still get privileges such as Priority Boarding but you won’t earn miles towards your status.
I didn’t pay anymore for my ticket this way and was able to manage my trip through my AA account and App, so so far I haven’t seen any reason not to book it this way and multiple reasons to do so.

So that’s my two-cents! After an old and extremely tired plane with zero amenities and falling apart on my trip over to London earlier this year, and having seen the new Dreamliner and discovering in their endeavor to pack it full of paying punters, there is less seat room than on one of their Eagles, I have been rapidly losing faith in American Airlines and questioning my loyalty. 

For those who are a slave like me to their mileage earning, Japan Airlines being part of the One World Alliance has reeled me back in to hanging in there and restored my faith in airline travel in general – at least outside of the US options!

JAL’s philosophy about why less is more

 I actually felt like a valued paying customer and that the airline recognized they were in business because of me! Between design, service and little touches, it is apparent by the note in your seat pocket from the President that JAL is committed to making flying a pleasant experience again, and I believe they are doing that very well. Whether miles matter or you are just looking for a decently priced ticket with great service, Japan Airlines is a winner. Their efforts should be applauded and I hope it pays off for them. As an avid traveler and as a travel pro, they certainly have my endorsement. Bravo!

Leave a comment