Bali Bound….Maybe

Another case of travel improvising on the fly!  All started out wonderful departing Greensboro, NC on Friday morning with all connections running smoothly, my upgrades cleared to LAX and on the long haul flight from LAX to Melbourne, Australia.  I had a 10 hour plus layover to see some good friends who showed me around the city, had a great lunch, and saw some sights.

IMG_2917 2

Brunch with my good friends Kaye and Maury!

Brunch with my good friends Kaye and Maury!

View from 87th floor of the Eureka building in downtown Melbourne.

View from 87th floor of the Eureka building in downtown Melbourne.

No need for explanation.

No need for explanation.

All looked good until about 3 hours before my flight to Bali when my flight to Bali on Jet Star was cancelled due to volcanic ash, but strangely enough, there were other flights departing to Bali that did not seem to have any issues!  I quickly had to make some decisions and ended up at the Singapore Air counter where I encountered some awesome customer service / agents who quickly re-accommodated me on the next Singapore flight and then a connecting flight to Bali.  I am still in Singapore Airport as i write this waiting for my connecting flight however, I will miss my connection to Maumere where I should be boarding the beautiful Dewi Nusantara for some amazing diving in Alor.  It is now Monday morning here so by my calculations, I am running past the 60 hour travel mark.  I there is an airport to be stuck in or have a long layover, it’s the Singapore Airport.  There is pretty much something to do or see 24/7.  As I wandered about, there was 24 hour gaming, 3 different gardens, restaurants, bars, movie rooms, gyms, hotels, and showers.

Singapore Airport Singapore Airport

One of 3 gardens in the airport.

One of 3 gardens in the airport.

Koi Pond and gardens inside the airport.

Koi Pond and gardens inside the airport.

Hopefully, there will be a no show on the only flight to Maumere today or I will be seeing the sights of Bali instead of setting my dive gear up and watching a beautiful sunset with an adult beverage in my hand…

To be continued…..

Leave a Reply

